BIOGRAPHY


   Mathias Vidal graduated in Musicology from the University of Nice. He studied singing with teacher Christiane Patard and graduated from the Paris National Conservatoire in 2003. He was awarded the title of “révélation classique” from the ADAMI in 2007.

   His repertoire includes Italian bel-canto roles such as Ernesto from Don Pasquale (Lisbon), Elvino from La Sonnambula (Bolshoï in Moscow), Almaviva from Il Barbiere di Siviglia (Saint-Céré)  and Ramiro from La Cenerentola (Gut-Immling).

   Praised for his qualities in the baroque repertoire, he took part in Hippolyte et Aricie at the Glyndebourne Festival, he sang the title role of Pygmalion (Houston, Dallas, and recorded the piece in New York), he took part in The King Arthur (Montpellier, Versailles, Besançon), The Indian Queen (Schwetzingen), l’Incoronazione di Poppea (Teatro Real in Madrid, Salle Pleyel in Paris, Lille, Dijon), and La Didone by Cavalli (Caen, Luxembourg, and Théâtre des Champs Elysées in Paris), L’Orfeo and La Calisto (Bayerische Staatsoper in Munich), Le Temple de la Gloire by Rameau (Lièges and Versailles), the title role in Platée (Japan), the title role in Dardanus (Versailles).

   In the French light-music repertoire, he sang Aristée and Pluton from Orphée aux Enfers (Aix-en-Provence Festival, Lausanne, Toulon, Dijon), Piquillo and Don Pedro From La Périchole (Dijon, Lille, Nantes, Rennes, Angers), Lorenzo from Fra Diavolo (Compiègne), Oreste from La Belle Hélène (Montpellier), and Camille de Coutançon from The Merry Widow (Montpellier), Le Dilettante d’Avignon by Halévy and the title role in Offenbach’s Barbe-Bleue (Angers, Nantes).

   In the recent seasons, he was heard as Pedrillo from Die Entführung aus dem Serail (Saint-Etienne), Vogelgesang from Der Schauspieldirektor (Rennes), Cecco from Il Mondo della Luna (Fribourg, Besançon, Reims, Nice, Rennes, Nantes, Angers and Luxembourg), Beppe from I Pagliacci (Gut Immling), The Four Servants from Les Contes d'Hoffmann (Gattières), La Théière / Le Petit Vieillard / La Rainette from L'Enfant et les Sortilèges (Monte-Carlo), Malcolm from Macbeth in Rennes, Brighella from Ariadne auf Naxos in Metz, L'Aumônier from Les Dialogues des Carmélites (Angers, Nantes). He stepped in so sing the title role in Gounod’s Cinq-Mars (Munich), and sang Pedro from De Falla’s El Retablo de Maese Pedro (Geneva).

   In the contemporary repertoire, he took part in L'Amour Coupable by Thierry Pécou (Rouen) and Les Caprices de Marianne by Henri Sauguet (Compiègne).

   He was heard with many orchestras and orchestral ensembles, and regularly sings concerts with the Palazzetto Bru-Zane in Venezia as well as with the Baroque Music Centre in Versailles.

   He sang under such conductors as Alain Altinoglu, Jean-Claude Casadesus, William Christie, Patrick Davin, Leonardo García Alarcón, Emmanuelle Haïm, Enrique Mazzola, Hervé Niquet, Jérémie Rohrer, Pascal Rophé, Ulf Schirmer and worked with directors such as Yves Beaunesne, Michel Fau, Jean-Louis Grinda, Clément Hervieu-Léger, Jonathan Kent, Pier Luigi Pizzi, François Rochaix, Jean-François Sivadier.

   Engagements for season 2015-2016 include Aristée and Pluton from Orphée aux Enfers by Offenbach (Angers, Nantes), Médor in the operetta by Hervé Les Chevaliers de la Table Ronde in a touring production, the title role in Lully’s Persée (Metz, Paris, Versailles), Torquemada from L’Heure Espagnole and the roles of Don Carlos and Damon from Les Indes Galantes (Munich), Belfiore from La Finta Giardiniera (Rennes), the title role in Boismortier’s Don Quichotte (Versailles), as well as many concerts with various ensembles (Pulcinella, Amarillis, Les Ombres, CAV&MA, Orchestre du Palais Royal…).

   During season 2016-2017, he takes part in Proserpine by Saint-Saëns in Munich and Versailles, he takes over Don Quichotte and Orphée aux Enfers, he sings a concert at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées with l’Orchestre Lamoureux and also takes part in Il Ritorno d’Ulisse by Monteverdi. He takes part in King Arthur with the Concert Spirituel in Versailles. He takes over Cinq-Mars in Leipzig and goes back to the Festival in Aix-en-Provence to take part in Carmen.

Download the biography

BIOGRAPHIE


   Après des études de Musicologie à Nice, Mathias Vidal étudie le chant auprès de Christiane Patard et intègre le Conservatoire National de Paris d’où il sort diplômé en 2003. Cette même année, il est lauréat de l'audition annuelle du Centre Français de Promotion Lyrique puis il est « révélation classique » de l’ADAMI en 2007.

   Son répertoire comprend les rôles du bel-canto italien tels que Ernesto dans Don Pasquale (Lisbonne), Elvino dans La Sonnambula (Bolshoï de Moscou), Almaviva dans Il Barbiere di Siviglia (Saint-Céré), Ramiro dans La Cenerentola (Gut-Immling).

   Egalement très apprécié dans le répertoire baroque, il participe à Hippolyte et Aricie au Festival de Glyndebourne, il chante le rôle-titre de Pygmalion (Houston et Dallas puis enregistre le rôle à New York), The King Arthur (Montpellier, Versailles, Besançon), The Indian Queen (Schwetzingen), L’Incoronazione di Poppea (Teatro Real de Madrid, Salle Pleyel à Paris, Lille et Dijon), La Didone de Cavalli (Caen, Luxembourg et au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées à Paris), L’Orfeo et La Calisto (Bayerische Staatsoper de Munich), Le Temple de la Gloire de Rameau (Liège et Versailles), le rôle- titre de Platée (Japon), le rôle-titre de Dardanus (Versailles).

   Dans le répertoire de musique légère, il chante Aristée et Pluton dans Orphée aux Enfers (Festival d’Aix-en-Provence, Lausanne, Toulon, Dijon), Piquillo / Don Pedro dans La Périchole (Dijon, Lille, Rennes, Angers-Nantes), Lorenzo dans Fra Diavolo (Compiègne), Oreste dans La Belle Hélène (Montpellier), ou bien encore Camille de Coutançon dans La Veuve Joyeuse (Montpellier), il participe au Dilettante d'Avignon de Halévy et chante le rôle-titre de Barbe-Bleue d'Offenbach (Angers-Nantes).

   Au cours des dernières saisons, il s’est également distingué dans le rôle de Pedrillo dans L’Enlèvement au Sérail (Saint-Etienne), Vogelgesang dans Der Schauspieldirektor (Rennes), Cecco dans Il Mondo della Luna (Fribourg, Besançon, Reims, Nice, Rennes, Nantes, Angers et au Luxembourg), Beppe dans I Pagliacci (Gut Immling), Les Quatre Valets des Contes d'Hoffmann (Gattières), La Théière / Le Petit Vieillard / La Rainette dans L'Enfant et les Sortilèges (Monte-Carlo), Malcolm dans Macbeth à Rennes, Brighella dans Ariadne auf Naxos à Metz, L’Aumônier du Carmel dans Les Dialogues des Carmélites (Angers-Nantes), il remplace au pied levé et chante le rôle-titre de Cinq- Mars de Gounod (Munich), il chante Pedro dans Les Traiteaux de Maître Pierre de De Falla (Genève).

   Ne négligeant pas le répertoire contemporain, il participe à L'Amour Coupable de Thierry Pécou (Rouen) et aux Caprices de Marianne d’Henri Sauguet (Compiègne).

   Il se produit en concert avec de nombreux ensembles et orchestres et collabore fréquemment avec le Palazzetto Bru-Zane de Venise et le Centre de Musique Baroque de Versailles.

   Il a chanté sous la direction de chefs tels Alain Altinoglu, Jean-Claude Casadesus, William Christie, Patrick Davin, Leonardo García Alarcón, Emmanuelle Haïm, Enrique Mazzola, Hervé Niquet, Jérémie Rohrer, Pascal Rophé, Ulf Schirmer et aux côtés de metteurs en scène tels Yves Beaunesne, Michel Fau, Jean-Louis Grinda, Clément Hervieu-Léger, Jonathan Kent, Pier Luigi Pizzi, François Rochaix, Jean-François Sivadier.

   Lors de la saison 2015-2016, il reprend les rôles d’Aristée et Pluton dans Orphée aux Enfers à Nancy, Médor dans Les Chevaliers de la Table Ronde de Hervé en tournée, le rôle-titre de Persée de Lully à Metz, Paris et Versailles, Torquemada dans L’Heure Espagnole puis Don Carlos et Damon dans Les Indes Galantes à Munich, Belfiore dans La Finta Giardiniera à Rennes, le rôle-titre de Don Quichotte de Boismortier à Versailles, ainsi que de nombreux concerts avec divers ensembles (Pulcinella, Amarillis, Les Ombres, Centre d’Art Vocal et Musique Ancienne de Namur, Orchestre du Palais Royal…).

   Lors de la saison 2016-2017, il chante dans Proserpine de Saint-Saëns à Munich et Versailles, il reprend Don Quichotte et Orphée aux Enfers, on l’entend au Théâtre des Champs-Elysées pour un concert avec l’Orchestre Lamoureux puis dans le Retour d’Ulysse de Monteverdi. Il chante de nouveau le rôle-titre de Cinq-Mars de Gounod à Leipzig avant son retour au Festival d’Aix-en-Provence où il participe à la production de Carmen.



Téléchargez la biographie